• Professor Renee Cole

    May 18, 2018

    The University of Iowa College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (CLAS) has named  Renée Cole as a Collegiate Scholar.   Renée Cole, who earned the PhD in Physical Chemistry from the University of Oklahoma, joined the Department of Chemistry faculty in 2011. The...
  • Professor Scott Daly

    May 09, 2018

    Professor Scott Daly and the Chemistry Platoon are featured in Iowa Now
  • Musical Chemistry

    Apr 20, 2018

    Musical Chemistry, a Center for New Music Presentation highlighting a colloboration between Benj Revis, the Department of Chemistry Glassblower, and Professor Jean-Francois Charles of the Department of Music, gave a...
  • MacGillivray

    Apr 20, 2018

    The MacGillivray Group is feature in Iowa Now for their part in the Student Sustainability Showcase being held April 20, 2018.    
  • Professor Betsy Stone

    Mar 19, 2018

    Elizabeth Stone, associate professor of chemistry in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, has been awarded the 2018-19 James Van Allen Natural Sciences Fellowship, a competitive award designed to...
  • Hansol Lee

    Feb 15, 2018

    Hansol Lee, a member of the Tivanski group, has received two ACS student awards.  Local Section Outreach Volunteer of the Year The Local Section Outreach Volunteer of the Year program encourages each local section to recognize one individual annually for demonstrating extraordinary...
  • Maurice Payne in lab

    Jan 10, 2018

    Maurice Payne, a graduate student in the Forbes Research Group, has been selected for a 2018 Ludo Frevel Crystallography Scholarship Award.  This award was established by the International Centre for Diffraction Data (ICDD) to support the education and research program of promising...
  • Girls go STEM, Girls go STEM , Girls go STEM

    Dec 06, 2017

    Several members of the Chemistry department, including Mona Maalouf, Binaya Shrestha, Tina Mihm, Michaella Raglione, and Jessica Deyoung, volunteered at the Girls Go STEM event held at the Carver College of Medicine on December 2nd. The event is designed to help expose 6th-8th grade girls to a...
  • surface action

    Nov 28, 2017

    The Tivanski group recently published a paper in the October Journal of Physical Chemistry virtual special issue, “Veronica Vaida Festschrift”. Despite being of atmospheric importance, direct surface tension measurements of sea spray aerosol (SSA) relevant sub-micrometer...
  • Dr. Jim Gloer

    Oct 03, 2017

    Jim Gloer has been selected to receive the 2018 Norman R. Farnsworth Research Achievement Award from the American Society of Pharmacognosy (ASP).  This is the highest award that ASP gives, and it is intended to recognize individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the field of...
Subscribe to Highlights