Alumni

Former Wiemer Group Members

Benjamin J. Foust, Ph.D. 2019
Center for Biocatalysis & Bioprocessing Fellow, Ballard-Seashore Fellow
Synthesis of Asymmetric Phosphonate Prodrugs

Personal e-mail:  Bfousty5077@gmail.com

Parin Shah, Ph.D. 2018
Synthesis of Terpenoids using a Tandem Cationic Cascade Cyclization-Electrophilic Aromatic Substitution Reactions

Personal e-mail: parinajayshah@gmail.com 

Robert A. Mattheissen, Ph.D. 2018
Synthesis of Carboxyphosphonates and Bisphosphonates as Potential GGtase II and GGDPS Inhibitors

Personal e-mail: rmatthiesen01@gmail.com

David P. Stockdale, Ph.D. 2017
Center for Biocatalysis & Bioprocessing Fellow
The Synthesis of Isosteres of Pawhuskin and Schweinfurthin-based Stilbenes

Professional e-mail:        dstockdale@cc.hawaii.edu  Personal e-mail:  david.stockdale73@yahoo.com 

Kevyn D. Gardner Ricossa, Ph.D. 2016
Synthesis of Potential Opioids Based on the Natural Pawhuskins

Personal e-mail:kdgardnerricossa@gmail.com  

Rebekah R. Shippy, Ph.D. 2016
Synthesis of Phosphoantigens and Chiral Trisphosphonates

Professional e-mail:  Rebekah.Shippy@obires.com 

Veronica S. Wills, Ph.D. 2015
AEGEP Fellowship,NIH Predoctoral Fellow -- Center for Biocatalysis & Bioprocessing Training Grant
Synthesis of Geminal Bisphosphonates as Potential Inhibitors of GGDPS 

Professional e-mail:        vrichmond@uworld.com  Personal e-mail:  vwills87@gmail.com 

Xiang (Sean) Zhou, Ph.D. 2014
University of Iowa Graduate College Fellowship
Synthesis of Inhibitors Targeting the Downstream Enzymes in the Isoprenoid Biosynthetic Pathways

Personal e-mail:  xiang_sean_zhou@yahoo.com

Alyssa (Mick) Hartung, Ph.D. 2014
Potential Opioid Receptor Modulators Derived from Novel Stilbenes

Professional e-mail:        hartung@rmu.edu  Personal e-mail:  ammick001@gmail.com 

Rebekah M. Richardson, Ph.D. 2012
University of Iowa Presidential Fellow
New Synthesis and Reactions of Phosphonates

Professional e-mail:  rebekah.richardson@biofiredx.com             Personal e-mail: rmrichardson1@gmail.com

Jacqueline P. Smits, Ph.D.  2011
GAANN Fellow, Pharmacology Training Grant
Synthesis of Novel Bis- and Trisphosphonates

Joseph J. Topczewski, Ph.D. 2011
American Chemical Society, Division of Medicinal Chemistry Fellowship
Cascade Cyclizations and the Schweinfurthins

Professional e-mail:        jtopczew@umn.edu

John G. Kodet, Ph.D. 2010
University of Iowa Presidential Fellow
Studies on Heteroaromatic Schweinfurthin Analogues

Professional e-mail:       jkodet@sheridan.edu

Rocky J. Barney, Ph.D.  2010
Synthesis and Biological Activity of Novel Phosphonates

Professional e-mail:       rbarney@westernwyoming.edu

Natalie C. Ulrich, Ph.D. 2010
University of Iowa Presidential Fellow
Cascade cyclizations in total synthesis: applications to synthesis of cytotoxic natural products

Professional e-mail:       nulrich@maryville.edu

Michael P. Callahan, Ph.D. 2009
Stereocontrolled Synthesis of Functionalized Hexahydroxanthenes

Nolan Mente, Ph.D. 2008
University of Iowa Presidential Fellow
Cascade Cyclizations in Synthesis of Isoprenoid Natural Products

Professional e-mail:       nolan_mente@cargill.com

Larry W. Shull, Ph.D. 2008
Phosphonate and Bisphosphonate Inhibitors of Isoprenoid Biosynthesis

Jose Yu, Ph.D. 2007
Stereocontrolled Olefin Synthesis in Preparation of Biologically Active Isoprenoid Organophosphorus Compounds

Professional e-mail:  jyu@jammfg.com                         Personal e-mail:  joseyu@gmail.com  

Mona A. Maalouf, Ph.D. 2006
Synthesis of Isoprenoids Incorporating a Fluorescent Label and Evaluation of their Effect on the Mevalonate Pathway

Professional e-mail:    mouna-a-maalouf@uiowa.edu        Personal e-mail: maaloufmoni@gmail.com

Sina I. Odejinmi, Ph.D. 2005
Synthesis of Bioactive Prenylated Aromatics

Professional e-mail:   Sina.Odejinmi@slcc.edu   Personal e-mail: sodejinm@bruinmail.slcc.edu

Jeffrey D. Neighbors, Ph.D. 2004
Predoctoral Fellowship, Breast Cancer Research Program
Synthetic Studies on the Schweinfurthin Family of Anticancer Compounds

Professional e-mail:     jneighbors@pennstatehealth.psu.edu 

XueMei Chen, Ph.D. 2002
Synthesis of Phosphonate Analogs of Cytosine Arabinoside Mono- and Diphosphate 

Professional E-mail (Albany Molecular Research): xuemei.chen@amriglobal.com   Personal e-mail:  xuchen2@yahoo.com

MeeKyoung (Suhyeon or Sue) Kim, Ph.D. 2002
Fluorescent Probes for Protein Prenylation and Tripeptidyl Probes for Tripeptidyl Protease

Professional e-mail:   sue-kim@add.re.kr Personal e-mail: lovebada@hotmail.com 

Yanming Du, Ph.D. 2002
Design and Synthesis of Farnesyl Pyrophosphate Analog

Professional e-mail: yanming.du@bblumberg.org  Personal e-mail: yanmingd@yahoo.com

Liqiang Chen, Ph.D. 2002
Synthesis of Mannosamine Derivatives and Analogs

Professional e-mail: chenx462@umn.edu Personal e-mail: liqiangchen221@hotmail.com

Edward M. Treadwell, Ph.D. 2001
Studies in the Synthesis of Prenylated Aromatics: Schweinfurthins,  Arieanal, and Montadial

Professional e-mail: emtreadwell@eiu.edu

LoriAnn Lentsch, Ph.D. 1999
Nucleophilic additions to ß-Keto Phosphonates

Professional e-mail:  wilsonl@battelle.org      Personal e-mail: loriannwilson@columbus.rr.com or sodak72@gmail.com

Jeffrey Wilson, Ph.D. 1998
Synthetic Studies of the Aschochlorin Family

Professional e-mail: JWilson@cas.org

Arlen Jeffery, Ph.D. 1998
Acyclic Nucleoside Phosphonates: Design and Synthesis of Novel Antiviral Agents

Shelly B. Blunt, Ph.D. 1998
Naturally Occurring PrenylatedPhenols: Structure Determination and Syntheses

Professional e-mail: sblunt@usi.edu

Mark F. Mechelke, Ph.D. 1998
University of Iowa Presidential Fellow
"Heads and Tails"  The Design and Synthesis of Novel RAS Farnesyl Transferase Inhibitors

Professional e-mail:  mfmechelke@stcloudstate.edu

Steven C. Cermak, Ph.D. 1998
Directed Ortho Metalation in the Synthesis of Isoprenoid Natural Products

Professional e-mail:  steven.cermak@usda.gov

Tracy J. Baker, Ph.D. 1998
Synthesis of Nonracemic Phosphonates and N-Acyl Mannosamines

Personal e-mail:  sidexene@gmail.com 

Diana Pogatchnik (Cermak), Ph.D. 1997
Synthesis of Terpenoid Phosphonates as Potential Inhibitor s of RAS Farnesylation

Professional e-mail:  dcermak@knox.edu

Jianguo (James) An, Ph.D. 1995
Diastereoselective Rearrangements of Vinyl Phosphates to ß-Keto Phosphonates and Their Application to Syntheses of Avarone Analogues

Personal e-mail: jianguo_an@hotmail.com

Wendy Lan McEldoon, Ph.D. 1995
Synthesis of Nucleoside Phosphonates

Professional e-mail: Wenkui.lan@bms.com

Kwangyong Park, Ph.D. 1993 (With Prof. William J. Scott)
Nickel Mediated Cross Coupling Reactions of neo-pentyl Iodides with Organometallic Compounds: Studies Directed toward the Total Synthesis of Arenarol

Professional e-mail:  kypark@cau.ac.kr

Koo Lee, Ph.D. 1993
Synthesis and Applications of Phosphonates and Phosphates

Professional e-mail:    koo.lee@bridgebiorx.com    Personal e-mail:  sungin9@gmail.com

Deborah Galinis, Ph.D. 1993
Chemical Investigations of Tropical Plants using Ecological and Medicinal Aproaches

Thomas E. Jacks, Ph.D. 1993
Studies Directed Toward the Total Synthesis of Avaarol and Capentin

Professional e-mail: tjacks@jstar-research.com  Personal e-mail: tejacks@verizon.net

Yi-Zhong An, Ph.D. 1992
SRegiochemistry and Stereochemistry of Vinyl Phosphate/ß-Keto Phosphonate Rearrangements

Profesional e-mail: yizhongan@uscontinental.com   Personal e-mail:  : yzan@msn.com

Qi (Amy) Han, Ph.D. 1992
The Total Synthesis of (+)-Jatrophone

Professional e-mail:        amy.han@regeneron.com>

Tong-Bin Chen, Ph.D. 1991
Phytochemical Investigations of Casearia, Cornutia, Cupania, and Piper Species

Brian Becicka, Ph.D. 1991
Formation of a Versatile, Chiral, Nonracemic Methylcyclopentanoid Unit and Its Use in the Synthesis of the Lathyrane Skeleton

Terrence P. Green, Ph.D. 1990
Phytochemical Studies of Selected Species of Piper

Personal  e-mail: tgreen@lorainccc.edu

John A. Jackson, Ph.D. 1990
New Chemistry of α-Phosphono Lactones

Professional e-mail: jajackson@ysu.edu

Katherine (Kate) B. Gloer, Ph.D. 1988
Rearrangements in Keto Phosphonate and Dienyl Phosphate Systems

Professional e-mail:  katherine-gloer@uiowa.edu

Frederick Koerwitz, Ph.D. 1988
Synthesis of Vinyl Silane Phosphates and Chiral Cyclopentanoids

Vassilios Roussis, Ph.D. 1987
New Routes to ß-Keto phosphonates: Applications in the Synthesis of 3(2H)- and 2(3H)-Furanones

Professional e-mail:  roussis@pharm.uoa.gr

Theodora Calogeropoulou, Ph.D. 1987
New Chemistry of Vinyl Phosphates: A Novel 1,3-Migration of Phosphorus from Oxygen to Carbon

Professional e-mail:   tcalog@eie.gr

Terry D. Hubert, Ph.D. 1985
Studies in Natural Products Chemistry

Personal e-mail:  tdhubert@centurytel.net

Marilyn Blagg (Cox), Ph.D. 1985
Strategies Toward the Synthesis and Isolation of Naturally Occurring Seed Germination Inhibitors

Professional e-mail:  mbcox@latech.edu    Personal e-mail:  mcoxk5mc@bellsouth.net

Diana C. Ales (Sprague), Ph.D. 1984
Isolation, Characterization, and Synthesis of Ant-Repellent Compounds from Selected Costa Rican Plant Species

Gary J. Drtina, Ph.D. 1983
Studies Toward the Total Synthesis of (+)-Jatrophone

Personal e-mail: gjdrtina@gmail.com

 

 

Postdoctoral Associates and Visiting Professors

Dr. Rocky J. Barney
PhD Institution: University of Iowa 
Dates: Summers of 2012 and 2013

Dr. Mona Maalouf
PhD Institution: University of Iowa
Dates:   January, 2005 to present

Dr. Jeffrey D. Neighbors
PhD Institution: University of Iowa
Dates:   August, 2004 to present

Dr. Natalie Ulrich
PhD Institution: University of Iowa
Dates:   October, 2011 to February, 2012

Dr. Donald Zehnder
PhD Institution: University of Cincinnati
Dates:   February, 2003 to January, 2004

Dr. Dragos Albinescu
PhD Institution: University of Illinois, Chicago
Dates:   August, 2002 to August, 2004

Prof. Kang-Yeoun Jung 
Home Institution: Kangnung National University, Republic of Korea
Dates:   March, 1999 to February, 2000
             Summers of 2001, 2002, 2003

Prof. DaeYoung Kim
Home Institution: Soonchunhyang University, Republic of Korea
Dates:   February, 2002 to January, 2003

Dr. Troy Kleckley
PhD Institution: Cornell University
Dates:   May, 2000 to September, 2000

For changes and corrections please email: dfw-webmaster@uiowa.edu