A Chemistry Celebration The University of Iowa 2024



Event Schedule

5:00 PM - Reception & Poster session*

6:00 PM - Ceremony

- Welcome Prof. Renée Cole (DEO)
- Undergraduate Awards Prof. Mona Maalouf
- Chemistry & Sustainability Study Abroad- Prof. Adam Brummett
- Graduate Awards Prof. Scott Shaw
- CGSA Awards Samantha Kruse & Darby Duffy
- Closing remarks Prof. Renée Cole

Welcome to the Annual Chemistry Appreciation and Awards Night. This event is designed to recognize the hard work and achievements of the graduate and undergraduate students of the Department of Chemistry at the University of Iowa.

Undergraduate Awards & Recognition

Department Awards

Donald J. Burton & Margaret A. Burton Scholarship

• Asya Lengel

E. David Cater Scholarship

• Kailey Krigas

Russell K. Simms Scholarship

- Ferris Bissen
- Parker Kintigh

Chemistry Alumni Awards

Senior Recipient

• Casey Huettman

Junior Recipient

• Jenna Ringwald

Sophomore Recipient

• Nadia Arsenijevic

CRC Freshman Chemistry Award

• Lily Nelson

Merck Index Award

• Sara Feiz

American Institute of Chemists Award

Ruben Delatorre

ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry Award

• Casey Huettman

ACS Division of Inorganic Chemistry Award

• Ferris Bissen

ACS Division of Organic Chemistry Award

Karah Putnam

ACS Division of Physical Chemistry Award

• Griffin Hancock

Summer Undergraduate Research Award

• Cade Hoambrecker

Viksnins, Harris, & Padys Poster Award

- Asya Lengel
- Ben Mullen
- Andrew Burgess
- Carson Lovig

Chemistry & Sustainability Student Abroad Scholarship

- Jessica Miller
- Michael Lauer
- Carsen Mellinger
- Ella Schlueter

B.S. and B.A. Graduates

<u>Fall 2023</u>: Rachael Bertolino (BS), Steven Palacios (BS), Aasthika Das (BA), Richard Whiteside (BS), Trevor Larkin (BS), Jackson Tupper (BS)

Spring 2024: **BS**: Sophie Alessio, Emma Barker, Leighton Barnes, Tommy Branstad Phillips, Aidan Craven, Sam Dolde, Griffin Hancock, Carter Swanson, Ferris Bissen, Julianne Green, Victor Calderon

BA: Ben Alexander, Anna Cacini, Brady Dunn, Aidan Freshly, Emry Hahn, Peyton Hedger, Cassidy Kamman, Kierra McKernan, Abril Mendez, Emily Miller, Lily Poci, Karah Putnam, Matthew Salas, Samantha Schwarte, Hajar Smith, Claire Stevens, Mackenzee Albert, Bergen Ensminger, Mackenzie Green, Cole Hillier, Kieran McLaughlin, Casey Huettman

Graduate Student Awards & Recognition

Department Awards

- A. Lynn Anderson Award for Research Excellence
 - To be announced

Kathryn K. & James D. Steele Scholarship

- Andrew Lazicki
- Darby Duffy

University Recognition

Ballard and Seashore Fellowship

- Piyumi B. Wijesirigunawardana, Fall 2024
- Dilini M. Kirindigoda Gamage, Fall 2024
- Colleen Lasar, Spring 2024
- Andrea Van Wyk, Spring 2024
- Chamika Madawala, Spring 2024

Graduate College Post-Comprehensive Research Fellowship

- Grace Akporere, Fall 2024
- Emmanuel Y Bonsu, Fall 2024
- Andrew Lazicki, Spring 2024
- Josie Welker, Spring 2024

Graduate College Summer (2024) Fellowship

- Uchechukwu Akporere
- Emmanuel Bonsu
- Thomas Chiarella
- Akalanka Ekanayake
- Janeshta Fernando
- Dilini Kirindigoda Gamage

- Heather Koska
- Jeewani Meepage
- Janadhi Nakath Durage
- Dunya Sembukuttiarachchige
- Mai Yer Yang

OVPR Dare to Discover Banner

• Samantha Kruse

External Recognition

NSF Graduate Research Fellowship

• Abby Carlin

NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Honorable Mention

• Nicole Shapiro

2023-2024 M.S. Graduates & Degrees Received

Summer 2023: Jalen Dickson, Andrew Horvath, Grant Shivers

<u>Fall 2023</u>: Collin Hill, Janadi Nakath Durage, Bishnu Neupane, Raphael Ogbodo, Jacob Schuely

Spring 2024: Leslie Bolda, Bichitra Borah

2023-2024 Ph.D. Graduates

Summer 2023: Jacob Hackbarth, Whitney Harmon, Hong Bok Lee, Leah Scharlott, Joshua Zgrabik

<u>Fall 2023</u>: Joshua Coduto, Kasun Dadallagei, Hoang Dang, Christopher Hartwick, Christopher Knutson, Ishanka Liyanage, Nicholas Luedtke, Chamari Mampage, Arjun Paudel, Nimesh Ranasinghe Arachchige

Spring 2024: Matthew Emerson, Tiron Jahinge, Chamika Madawala, Hannah Nennig, Celymar Ortiz de Leon, Andrea Van Wyk

CGSA Peer Awards

• To be announced

The Graduating class of 2024 recognizes these UI faculty and staff members for making a positive difference in their lives during their time at the University of Iowa. President Barbara Wilson, Executive Vice President and Provost Kevin Kregel, and Vice President for Student Life Sarah Hansen join in thanking all of the valuable faculty and staff members who work every day to make a difference for our students. And congratulations to the class of 2024!

Aditi Bhattacherjee
Ned Bowden
Adam Brummett
David Cwiertny
Scott Daly
Caleb DeWitt
Tori Forbes
Dominic Frisbee
Maxwell Geng
Rebecca Laird

Johna Leddy
Mouna Maalouf
David Martin
Louis Messerle
Chris Pigge
Scott Shaw
Binaya Shrestha
Michael Sinnwell
Betsy Stone
Amy Strathman
Alexei Tivanski
Florence Williams

Names were collected through the UI Senior Exit Survey, which all undergraduates are invited to complete at the time they file to graduate. Names in bold were mentioned more than 5 times.

Chemistry Appreciation & Awards Night Poster Session Participants

Andrew Burgess
Carson Lovig