People

Faculty

Listing of all Faculty in the department.
Name E-mail Phone Office

Renee S. Cole

Professor; Department Executive Officer (DEO/Department Chair); Physical & Computational Chemistry ; Chemical Education
renee-cole@uiowa.edu 319-384-1883 E331 or W331 CB

Mark A. Arnold

Edwin B. Green Professor in Laser Chemistry; Analytical Chemistry ; Director, Center for Biocatalysis and Bioprocessing
mark-arnold@uiowa.edu 319-335-1368 230 IATL

Aditi Bhattacherjee

Assistant Professor; Physical & Computational Chemistry

aditi-bhattacherjee@uiowa.edu

319-467-4172 118 IATL

Ned B. Bowden

Professor; Organic Chemistry
ned-bowden@uiowa.edu 319-335-1198 W425 CB

Adam Brummett

Assistant Professor of Instruction

adam-brummett@uiowa.edu

319-467-1695 E325 CB

Korey Carter

Assistant Professor; Inorganic Chemistry

korey-carter@uiowa.edu

319-467-4171 E357 CB

Christopher M. Cheatum

Professor; Physical & Computational Chemistry; Associate Dean for the Natural, Mathematical, and Social Sciences, CLAS
christopher-cheatum@uiowa.edu 319-353-0379 326 IATL

David Cwiertny

Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering; Professor (Secondary Appointment), Department of Chemistry

david-cwiertny@uiowa.edu

(319) 335-1401 4655 Seamans Center for the Engineering Arts and Sciences

Scott R. Daly

Associate Professor; Inorganic Chemistry

scott-daly@uiowa.edu

319-384-1356 W474 CB

Tori Z. Forbes

Professor; Inorganic Chemistry; Director, Materials Analysis, Testing, and Fabrication (MATFab) Facility; Professor (Secondary Appointment), Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
tori-forbes@uiowa.edu 319-384-1320 W374 CB

Gregory K. Friestad

Associate Professor; Organic Chemistry
gregory-friestad@uiowa.edu 319-335-1364 E455 CB

M. Lei Geng

Professor; Analytical Chemistry
lei-geng@uiowa.edu 319-335-3167 W176 CB

Edward G. Gillan

Professor; Inorganic Chemistry
edward-gillan@uiowa.edu 319-335-1308 W325 CB

James B. Gloer

Roy J. Carver/Ralph L. Shriner Professor of Chemistry; Organic Chemistry
james-gloer@uiowa.edu 319-335-1361 E515 CB

Rebecca Laird

Associate Professor of Instruction

rebecca-laird@uiowa.edu

319-384-4175 W341 CB

Johna Leddy

Associate Professor; Analytical Chemistry ; Physical & Computational Chemistry
johna-leddy@uiowa.edu 319-335-1720 W358 PBB

Mona Maalouf

Associate Professor of Instruction; Director of Undergraduate Studies

mouna-a-maalouf@uiowa.edu

319-335-4832 W337 CB

Claudio J. Margulis

Professor; Physical & Computational Chemistry
claudio-margulis@uiowa.edu 319-335-0615 244 IATL

Dave Martin

Associate Professor ; Organic Chemistry

david-martin@uiowa.edu

319-467-1673 E433 CB

Lou Messerle

Associate Professor; Organic Chemistry ; Inorganic Chemistry
lou-messerle@uiowa.edu 319-335-1372 E457 CB

Pere Miro

Associate Professor

pere-miro@uiowa.edu

F. Christopher Pigge

Associate Professor; Organic Chemistry
chris-pigge@uiowa.edu 319-335-3805 E557 CB

Aliasger Salem

Professor, College of Pharmacy; Professor (Secondary Appointment) Department of Chemistry

aliasger-salem@uiowa.edu

(319) 335-8810 452 CPN

Michael Schultz

Associate Professor of Radiology-Division of Nuclear Medicine; Associate Professor (Secondary Appointment) Department of Chemistry

michael-schultz@uiowa.edu

319-335-8017 B180 ML

Scott K. Shaw

Associate Professor ; Analytical Chemistry ; Director of Graduate Studies

scott-k-shaw@uiowa.edu

319-384-1355 W476 CB

Michael Sinnwell

Assistant Professor of Instruction

michael-sinnwell@uiowa.edu

319-384-1873 E323 CB

Gary Small

Professor; Analytical Chemistry

gary-small@uiowa.edu

335-3214 204 IATL

Elizabeth A. Stone

Professor; Analytical Chemistry
betsy-stone@uiowa.edu 319-384-1863 W376 CB

Amy Strathman

Associate Professor of Instruction
amy-strathman@uiowa.edu 319-335-1108 E323 CB

Alexei V. Tivanski

Professor; Analytical Chemistry ; Physical & Computational Chemistry
alexei-tivanski@uiowa.edu 319-384-3692 E272 CB

Bess Vlaisavljevich

Associate Professor

bess-vlaisavljevich@uiowa.edu

David F. Wiemer

F. Wendell Miller Professor; Organic Chemistry
david-wiemer@uiowa.edu 319-335-1365 E531 CB

Florence Williams

Assistant Professor ; Organic Chemistry

florence-williams@uiowa.edu

319-384-1319 W285 CB

Visiting and Adjunct Faculty

Listing of Visiting Faculty and Adjunct Faculty in the department
Name E-mail Phone Office

Binaya Shrestha

Instructional Services Manager, Adjunct Lecturer, Chem Teaching Labs

binaya-shrestha@uiowa.edu

319-353-2294 W441 CB

Nicole Becker

Adjunct Associate Professor

nicole-becker@uiowa.edu

Shuvendu Das

Adjunct Assistant Professor

shuvendu-das@uiowa.edu

319-335-4905 E230 CB

Amanda J. Haes

Adjunct Professor, Department of Chemistry
amanda-haes@uiowa.edu

Leonard R. MacGillivray

Adjunct Professor, Department of Chemistry
len-macgillivray@uiowa.edu

Sara E. Mason

Adjunct Associate Professor
sara-mason@uiowa.edu

Catherine Radzewich

Visiting Assistant Professor

catherine-radzewich@uiowa.edu

319-335-1375 W339 CB

James Shepherd

Adjunct Associate Professor

james-shepherd@uiowa.edu

Manisha Skaria

Adjunct Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry

manisha-skaria@uiowa.edu

E230 CB

Staff

Listing of Additional Support Staff in the department
Name E-mail Phone Office

Shonda L. Monette

Departmental Administrator

shonda-monette@uiowa.edu

319-335-1344 E331A CB

Amy Charles

Research Support Specialist

amy-charles@uiowa.edu

319-353-2348 W431 CB

George Crull

Assistant Director, NMR Spectroscopist, Chem NMR Facility

george-crull@uiowa.edu

319-384-1315 W275A CB

Lindsay Elliott

Graduate Program Coordinator, Chem Admin Office

lindsay-elliott@uiowa.edu

319-335-0200 E331 CB

Mike Estenson

Project Engineer, Electrical, Chem Electronics Shop
michael-estenson@uiowa.edu 319-335-2113 W138 CB

Rachel Franke

Administrative Services Coordinator, Chem Admin Office

rachel-franke@uiowa.edu

319-335-1350 E331 CB

Dominic Frisbie

Administrator of Instruction

dominic-hull@uiowa.edu

319-335-1170 W439 CB

Evelyn Knight

Facilities Coordinator, Chemistry Stores

evelyn-knight@uiowa.edu

319-467-0968 W93G CB

Brian D. Morrison

Instructional Services Specialist, Chem Teaching Labs
brian-d-morrison@uiowa.edu 319-335-1917 W444B CB

Adam L. Page

Instructional Services Coordinator, Chemistry Center

adam-page@uiowa.edu

319-335-7962 E225D CB

Emily Platt

Instructional Services Specialist, Chem Teaching Labs

emily-platt@uiowa.edu

319-467-4481 W444D CB

Benjamin Revis

Scientific Glassblower, Chem Glass Shop
benjamin-revis@uiowa.edu 319-335-1337 W152 CB

Binaya Shrestha

Instructional Services Manager, Adjunct Lecturer, Chem Teaching Labs

binaya-shrestha@uiowa.edu

319-353-2294 W441 CB

TBD

Instructional Services Specialist, Chemistry Center
319-467-1527 E225D CB

Santhana Velupillai

Director, Chem NMR Facility
santhana-velupillai@uiowa.edu 319-353-2291 W184 CB

Chris Crawford

HR Manager, CLAS Administration

chris-crawford@uiowa.edu

319-467-4822 240 SH

Tim Koon

Supply Chain Coordinator, UI Shared Services
timothy-koon@uiowa.edu 319-335-1383 W93C CB

Sandy Mast

Senior Financial Analyst, CLAS Finance

sandy-mast@uiowa.edu

319-335-9304 202 SH

Molly Buhrow

Associate Director, Pre-Award Team Lead, CLAS Grant Support Office

molly-buhrow@uiowa.edu

319-467-0961

Tammy Smith

Research Support Manager, Post-Award, CLAS Grant Support Office

tammy-smith@uiowa.edu

319-467-1781

Michael Ciha

IT Support Analyst, Enterprise Services, Chem IT

michael-ciha@uiowa.edu

319-334-4204 E127 CB

Peter Franke

Senior IT Support Consultant, Enterprise Services, Chem IT

peter-franke@uiowa.edu

319-335-1471 E127 CB

Bryan Ringen

IT Support Consultant, Enterprise Services, Chem IT

bryan-ringen@uiowa.edu

319-335-0149 E127 CB

Conrad Bendixen

Librarian, Chemistry Library, Library Administration

conrad-bendixen@uiowa.edu

319-335-0312 E237 CB

Vic Parcell

Core Facility Research Specialist, Mass Spectrometry Facility
vic-parcell@uiowa.edu 319-335-1381 W76 CB

Lynn Teesch

Director, Mass Spectrometry Facility
lynn-teesch@uiowa.edu 319-335-1216 W75 CB