Professor Sara E. Mason promoted to Associate Professor

Dr. Sara Mason
Thursday, May 25, 2017 - 7:00pm

Professor Sara E. Mason was promoted to the rank of Associate Professor with tenure. Prof. Mason is a theoretical physical chemist specializing in density functional theory and electronic structure methods.  In Prof. Mason's lab, researchers use computational chemistry to study technologically important nanomaterials, as well as their transformations in and impacts on the environment.  The group also works to develop accurate modeling methods and practices for chemical systems of increasing size and complexity.  At Iowa, Mason is a member of the Center for Global and Regional Environmental Research, and the Iowa Informatics Initiative.  Prof. Mason is a Senior Investigator in the Center for Sustainable Nanotechnology (CSN), an NSF Center for Chemical Innovation that partners top researchers from twelve universities.  The CSN aims to develop and utilize a molecular-level understanding of nanomaterial-biological interactions to enable the development of sustainable, societally beneficial nanotechnologies.  The NSF also currently funds projects in the Mason Group that deal with chemical looping combustion technology and how water near mineral surfaces affects their reactivity.  Other highlights of Mason's work since at Iowa include that she has developed and taught advanced courses in Quantum Chemistry and Molecular Modeling, has served the University community as a Safe Zone Program Facilitator, and she is currently the Councilor of the local Iowa Section of the American Chemical Society.  In 2013, Mason was awarded an NSF-CAREER grant to develop her research program in quantum nanogeochemistry.  Prior to coming to Iowa in 2010, Prof. Mason was a National Research Council Postdoctoral Fellow in the Physics Laboratory at NIST.  She received her Ph.D. in Chemistry, 2007, from the University of Pennsylvania, B.S. in Chemistry, 2001, from St. John Fisher College (summa cum laude), and A.A.S. in Chemical Technology, 1999 from Monroe Community College.