• Molten Alkali Chloride Salts

    Nov 23, 2020

    Members of the Margulis Group, including Fei Wu, Shobha Sharma and Claudio Margulis are co-authors of a "2020 HOT PCCP" article.  Read the full article in Physical Chemistry Chemical Physics here:...
  • Fei Wu

    Nov 23, 2020

    Fei Wu, a recent graduate of the University of Iowa Department of Chemistry and the Margulis Group was named Young Researcher, Institute of Radiochemistry and Nuclear Environment at Lanzhou University. Congratulations Dr. Wu!
  • Mason with CSN group at the NSF.

    Oct 02, 2020

    With a $20 million grant renewal, the Mason group is celebrating the success of the NSF Center for Sustainable Nanotechnology (CSN), a multi-institution project that began at the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 2012 and now partners with eleven other laboratories and universities across the...
  • Daly, Scott R.

    Sep 15, 2020

    Dr. Scott Daly was promoted to the rank of Associate Professor in July 2020. Prof. Daly joined the faculty at the University of Iowa in 2014. With funding from both the Department of Energy and the National Science Foundation, Dr. Daly and his research group are investigating new metal complexes to...
  • Jul 21, 2020

    Long-time Department of Chemistry Professor, Jack Doyle has passed away. Professor Doyle taught at the University of Iowa for 37 years. He was also a World War II veteran and a member of the US Navy Reserve. We join his family in grieving his loss, and celebrating his life. A full...
  • Professor David Wiemer

    Jul 21, 2020

    Congratulations to Professor Dave Wiemer who has been awarded the 2020 ACS Midwest Award!  This award publicly recognizes outstanding achievements in chemistry in the Midwest region. It is conferred annually on a scientist who has made meritorious contributions to the...
  • Andy Nelson, Maurice Mo Payne

    Jul 15, 2020

    Two individuals with ties to the Department of Chemistry and the Forbes Group were spotlighted in a recent article by the Graduate College: Andrew Nelson and Mo Payne are both employed by Sandia National Laboratories in Albequrque, New Mexico, working in Chemical and Biological Security, alongside...
  • Dr. James Shepherd

    Jun 24, 2020

    Congratulations to Dr. James Shepherd, assistant professor in the Department of Chemistry, who was recognized with an award from the United States Department of Energy's Early Career Research Program. Shepherd is one of 76 scientists from across the nation selected for the...
  • NSF Rain and tree pollen

    Jun 12, 2020

    Congratulations to Professor Betsy Stone, along with graduate students Chamari Mampage and Dagen Hughes, and undergraduate student, Lily Jones, from the Department of Chemistry. Together they have authored a paper on the effects of rain on tree pollen. Congratulations on this...
  • Prof. Ed Gillan

    May 18, 2020

    The University of Iowa has recognized Prof. Ed Gillan with an Innovation in Laboratory Safety Award. "The Innovation in Laboratory Safety Award celebrates exceptional and ground-breaking innovations that advance safety in academic research laboratories." The annual Discovery &...
Subscribe to Highlights