Graduate Student News and Achievements

October 2019

Gonzalo Campillo-Alvarado (MacGillivray Group) recieved the Paul R. Sharp Award for Outstanding Oral Presentation in Inorganic Chemistry at this year's ACS Midwest Regional Meeting.


July 2019

Dr. Gilbert Reynders, a Cole group alumnus who successfully defended his dissertation in June, has accepted a postdoctorate position with Dr. Suzanne Ruder at Virginia Commonwealth University.

Dr. Kamal Ray, of the Tivanski group, successfully defended his thesis and has accepted a postdoctorate fellowship with Dr. Heather Allen at Ohio State University.

Diamond Jones of the Mason Group was accepted into the NSF PARADIM 2019 Summer School program at Johns Hopkins University.

Dr. Joseph W. Bennett, alumnus of the Mason Group, begins his new position as Research Assistant Professor, in the Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry at University of Maryland Baltimore County.


June 2019

Nathan Black (Gillan Group), Jason Mixdorf (Pigge Group), Hoa Phan (Haes Group), and Shweta Yelgaonkar (MacGillivray Group), have all been announced as Ballard and Seashore Fellowship recipients for the fall of 2019. 


May 2019

Tina Mihm of the Shepherd Group received a University of Iowa Council on Teaching Outstanding TA Award for her excellent work as a Physical Chemistry II TA in the academic year of 2018-2019.


April 2019

Andy Hovarth of the Shaw Group has been awarded a UI Grad College summer fellowship, and Jessica DeYoung and Javy Luna, also of the Shaw Group, have both been awarded UI Grad College Diversity Fellowships. More information about Grad College fellowships can be found here

Hansol Lee has been awarded with a 2019 ACS Analytical Chemistry Graduate Summer Fellowship. Learn more about ACS Analytical Chem fellowships for graduate students here.

Diamond Jones of the Mason Group has been awarded twice this month: first with a Graduate Diversity Fellowship through the UI Grad College for fall of 2019, and again with a Carl Storm Underrepresented Minority Fellowship to attend the Environmental Nanotechnology Gordon Research Conference.

Best wishes to Dr. Wenjing Xi of the Haes group as she takes on a new role as a researcher in the FDA’s Office of Pharmaceutical Quality, Division of Pharmaceutical Analysis.


March 2019

Jaclyn Curry has been awarded with a NSF-INTERN position with Mari Signum. Learn more about her internship here

Janaka Abeysinghe of the Gillan Group won first place for his entry in the math, physical, and engineering sciences category at this year’s Jakobsen Conference

Jennifer Bjorklund of the Mason Group has been awarded a Graduate Travel Award from the GEOC Division of ACS to support her participation in the 2019 ACS Spring Meeting.


January 2019

Best of luck to recent Gillan Group grad Dr. Tony Montoya as he begins his postdoc position at Argonne National Labaratory.


October 2018

Kyounghoon Lee of the Daly Group received the inaugural Paul Sharp Award for Best Student Oral Presentation in Inorganic Chemistry at the ACS Midwest Regional Meeting in Ames, Iowa.


September 2018

Gillan group alum Dr. Nate Coleman, Jr. is starts in a new visiting professor position at the University of Toledo.


July 2018

Rayford Harrison traveled with Dr. Cole to the International Conference on Chemistry Education in Sydney, Australia where they both delivered presentations.


June 2018

Rayford Harrison of the Cole and Daly groups received a GAANN Fellowship for 2018-2019. 


May 2018

A paper by Anastasia Blake and coauthored by other Daly Group members was selected as a cover feature and highlighted as a VIP article in the European Journal of Inorganic Chemistry. 

Thirandjeewa Lansakara of the Tivanski Group was honored as Teaching Assistant of the Year for his work teaching Principles of Physical Chemistry.


March 2018

Chad Gilmer of the Bowden Group won the Outstanding POLY Poster Award at the ACS National Meeting in New Orleans. His presentation featured new research on smart epoxy nanofiltration membranes for chemical separations.

Aerosol research by the Tivanski Group was featured in the March edition of The Aerosol Times.


February 2018

Hansol Lee of the Tivanski Group and CAICE has been awarded two ACS awards – Local Section Outreach Volunteer of the Year and Graduate Student Award in Environmental Chemistry. 

Tivanski Group members Kamal Ray and Hansol Lee were also awarded with University of Iowa Graduate College Summer Fellowships.


January 2018

Mo Payne of the Forbes Group has been awarded a 2018 Ludo Frevel Crystallography Scholarship Award