A Chemistry Celebration The University of Iowa 2023



Event Schedule

5:00 PM - Reception & Poster session*

6:00 PM - Ceremony

Welcome - Prof. Len MacGillivray (DEO)

Undergraduate Awards - Prof. Rebecca Laird

Graduate Awards - Prof. Scott Daly

CGSA Awards - Colleen Lasar & Caleb DeWitt

Closing remarks - Prof. Cole (Associate Chair)

Welcome to the Annual Chemistry Appreciation and Awards Night. This event is designed to recognize the hard work and achievements of the graduate and undergraduate students of the Department of Chemistry at the University of Iowa.

Undergraduate Awards & Recognition

Department Awards

Donald J. Burton & Margaret A. Burton Scholarship

• Madelyn Daley

E. David Cater Scholarship

• Emily Ratermann

Russell K. Simms Scholarship

- Nathaniel Gehrke
- Haley Lightfoot

Chemistry Alumni Awards

Senior Recipient

• Haley Lightfoot

Junior Recipient

• Casey Huetmann

Sophomore Recipient

• Jenna Ringwald

CRC Freshman Chemistry Award

• Willie Zheng

Merck Index Award

• Thomas Phillips

American Institute of Chemists Award

Jackson Tupper

ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry Award

• Trevor Larkin

ACS Division of Organic Chemistry Award

• Nathaniel Gehrke

ACS Division of Physical Chemistry Award

• Jenna Ringwald

Chemistry & Sustainability Student Abroad Scholarship

- Kodi Dailey
- Joe Farrell
- Lindsay Ginger
- Cade Hoambrecker
- Meg Krapfl
- Kailey Krigas
- Tina Liu
- Sarah McGee
- Jenna Ringwald
- Gabe Yetley

External Recognition

Research & Development Summer Internship- Natural Fiber Welding

• Casey Huetmann

B.S. and B.A. Graduates

Summer 2022: Gabriel Armas (BS), Austin Curtiss (BA), Bethany Negen (BA)

<u>Fall 2022</u>: Douglas Clark (BA), Chengcheng Liu (BA), Edgar Sandoval (BA), Emily Graham (BS), Alexander Slack (BS)

<u>Spring 2023:</u> (BS): Esmee Belzer, Nathaniel Gehrke, Dalston Jones, Kaylyn Kingery, Haley Lightfoot, Taizhe Liu, Brooklyn McDowell, Ryleigh Mulcahey, Seth Patterson, Dalton Rippey, Michael Rodriguez, Robert Sadoski, Clara Stuedemann, Elena Turk, Sydney Wilson

(BA): Grace Clesle, Madelyn Daley, Anthony Delgado Rubio, Eleanor Errico, Emma Freyermuth, Benjamin Grant, Lydia Hecker, Elizabeth Jepsen, Wayne Klopfenstein, Cade Kuenster, Scout Lenhart, Tristan McMillan, Christian Montes, Kayla Nguyen, Ivania Palma, Simon Pek, Emily Ratermann, Brie Salloum, Rachel Schafer, Kylie Simpson, Ian Smith, Vera Weis

Graduate Student Awards & Recognition

Department Awards

A. Lynn Anderson Award for Research Excellence

• To be announced

University Recognition

Ballard and Seashore Fellowship

- Celymar Ortiz de Leon, Fall 2022
- Lucas Howell, Fall 2022
- Nicole States, Fall 2022
- Chamari Mampage, Spring 2023
- Colleen Lasar, Spring 2023

CLAS Dissertation Writing Fellowship

• Josh Coduto

Graduate College Post-Comprehensive Research Fellowship

- Brett Lottes, Fall 2022
- Mikayla Wymore, Fall 2022

- Caleb DeWitt, Spring 2023
- Theodora Leventis, Spring 2023

Graduate College Summer (2023) Fellowship

- Andrej Corkovic
- Caleb DeWitt
- Akalanka Ekanayake
- Katuwana Arachchige
- Colleen Lasar
- Theodora Leventis
- Chamari Mampage
- Andres Mora Mata
- Ryan Norton
- Harindu Rajapaksha
- Leah Scharlott
- Ashley Schneider
- Primadi Subintoro
- Andrea Van Wyk
- Piyumi Wijesirigunawardana

Diversity Fellowship

• Josiah Wray, Fall 2022

Council on Teaching Outstanding Teaching Award

• Caleb DeWitt

OVPR Graduate Research Excellence Award

• Dmytro Kravchuk

Innovations in Teaching with Technology Award

• Joshua R. Coduto

External Recognition

NSF Graduate Research Fellowship

• Samantha Kruse

NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Honorable Mention

• Andrej Corkovic

2022 - 2023 M.S. Graduates & Degrees Received

<u>Fall 2022</u>: Vinay Bapu Ramesh, Matthew Breuer, Celymar Ortiz de Leon, Megan Polz, Victoria Rivera, Leah Scharlott, Josiah Wray

<u>Spring 2023</u>: Eric Bruening, Peter Foley, Holly Huther, Hannah Nennig, Hung Huu Nguyen

2022 - 2023 Ph.D. Graduates

Summer 2022: Jalen Dickson, Andrew Horvath, Grant Shivers

<u>Fall 2022</u>: Eric Brown, Dulamini Ekanayake, Chathuri Kaluarachchi, Changan Li, Tina Mihm, Soe Lu Tun

<u>Spring 2023</u>: Janaka Abeysinghe, Logan Augustine, Christian Haas, Lucas Howell, Blake Hudson, Kevin Hunter, Dmytro Kravchuk, Matthew Lovander, Ramin Ordikhani Seyedlar, Nicole States, Nathan Stumme, Al Tiba

CGSA Peer Awards

• To be announced

The Graduating class of 2023 recognizes these UI faculty and staff members for making a positive difference in their lives during their time at the University of Iowa. President Barbara Wilson, Executive Vice President and Provost Kevin Kregel, and Vice President for Student Life Sarah Hansen join in thanking all of the valuable faculty and staff members who work every day to make a difference for our students. And congratulations to the class of 2023!

Adam Brummett Scott Daly Tori Forbes* **Greg Friestad** M. Lei Geng Ed Gillan Kevin Hunter Rebecca Laird* Johna Leddy Mona Maalouf David Martin Lou Messerle Chris Pigge Leah Scharlott Scott Shaw Michael Sinnwell Amy Strathman Alexei Tivanski David Wiemer

Names were collected through the UI Senior Exit Survey, which all undergraduates are invited to complete at the time they file to graduate.

Chemistry Appreciation & Awards Night Poster Session

"Selective C-H Activation of dimondoids via visible light photocatalysis"

Jennifer Suarez

"Synthesis of α -Amino Triazole Bisphosphonates with Modified Isoprenoid Tails"

Nathan Gehrke

"Preparation and Evaluation of Lanthanide Catalysts for Oxygen Reduction"

Trevor Larkin