Event Schedule 5:00 PM - Reception & Poster session* 6:00 PM - Ceremony Welcome - Prof. Len MacGillivray (DEO)/ **Undergraduate Awards - Prof. James Shepherd** Graduate Awards - Prof. Jim Gloer CGSA Awards - Andy Horvath & Colleen Lasar Closing remarks - Prof. Len MacGillivray (DEO)/ *A full list of posters and their presenters can be found at the bottom of this program. Welcome to the Annual Chemistry Appreciation and Awards Night. This event is designed to recognize the hard work and achievements of the graduate and undergraduate students of the Department of Chemistry at the University of Iowa. **Department Awards**

Donald J. Burton & Margaret A. Burton Scholarship Nathaniel Gehrke E. David Cater Scholarship Hannah Crowell

❖ Madelyn Daley

Russell K. Simms Scholarship ❖ Clara Stuedemann Kenneth Sando Undergraduate Scholarship

A Chemistry Celebration

The University of Iowa

2022

Prof. Renee Cole (Associate Chair) Prof. Renee Cole (Associate Chair)

Sophomore Recipient Jackson Tupper CRC Freshman Chemistry Award Jenna Ringwald Merck Index Award Trevor Larkin

American Institute of

ACS Division of Analytical

ACS Division of Organic

ACS Division of Physical

Viksnins, Harris, & Padys

❖ Clara Stuedemann

Nathaniel Gehrke

Chemists Award

Dalton Rippey

Chemistry Award

❖ Ana Rodriguez

Chemistry Award

Chemistry Award

Kristin Boyler

Haley Lightfoot

❖ Laura Weiler

Lillian Jones

External Recognition

B.S. and B.A. Graduates

Fall 2021: Lauren Andrews,

Jacob Ertman, Lillian Jones,

OVPR Dare to Discover Banner

NSF Graduate Research Fellowship

Summer 2021: Bill Liu, Sheng Yan (BA)

Claire Phelps, Reza Shirsalimian (BS);

Stephanie Gibbons, Emily Graham,

Jennifer Lane-Murcia, Claire Meyer,

Owen Millers, Elias Miyanda Alinan

Alisha DeWolf, Isaac Eigner-Bybee,

Kelsey Chantharasee, Hannah Crowell,

Fischer Kimm, Minghan Lin, Hao Long,

Shay McLean, Aidan Pearl, Marcus Pei,

Marissa Tunning, Alexander Wemmie

Graduate Student Awards &

Recognition

Alexandria Julius, Crystal Kotvan,

Olivia Batey, Hee Seon Shin (BA)

Spring 2022: Nicholas Dahlen,

Mpundu, Steven Palacios (BS);

Reid Hogan, Ethan Hollar,

Jiayi Shu, Emerson Tran Lam,

<u>Department Awards</u>

Research Excellence

Changan Li

* Tina Mihm

❖ Eric Brown

Fellowship

Kevin Hunter

Samantha Kruse

Leah Scharlott

❖ Joshua Zgrabik

Diversity Fellowship

Council on Teaching

Jalen Dickson

Excellence Award

Award

Dmytro Kravchuk

❖ Joshua R. Coduto

Samantha Kruse

Honorable Mention

Andrej Corkovic

Hoang Dang

Research Fellowship

❖ Logan Augustine

❖ Jessica DeYoung

Diamond Jones

Mikaela Pyrch

Dmytro Kravchuk

Lucas Howell

Cory Ludwig

Maosong Ye

Kevin Robben

CGSA Peer Awards

To be announced

Fellowship

Laboratory

Merck Research Award for

External Recognition

❖ Josiah Wray, Fall 2022

OVPR Graduate Research

Outstanding Teaching Award

Innovations in Teaching with Technology

NSF Graduate Research Fellowship

NSF Graduate Research Fellowship

Underrepresented Chemists of Color

DOE Office of Science Graduate Student

NSF Mathematical and Physical Sciences

Piyumi Wijesirigunawardana

Ascending Postdoctoral Research

2022 Seaborg Summer Research

Selected Presenter: ACS Research

Symposium, Organic Division

2021 - 2022 M.S. Graduates

Fall 2021: Rebekkah Hodges,

2021 - 2022 Ph.D. Graduates

Sajeewani Kumarage, Seth Van Helten

Summer 2021: Ian Brown, Alexis Ellis,

Alisa Fairweather, Austin Gessell,

Md. Robiul Islam, Hansol Lee,

Fall 2021: Johnathan Culpepper,

Diamond Jones, Kathryn Mauger-

Jessica DeYoung, Dagen Hughes,

The Graduating class of 2022 recognizes

making a positive difference in their lives

President Barbara Wilson, Executive Vice

members who work every day to make a

difference for our students. And

congratulations to the class of 2022!

during their time at the University of Iowa.

President and Provost Kevin Kregel, and Vice President for Student Life Sarah Hansen join

in thanking all of the valuable faculty and staff

From Chemistry:

Natalia Alexeeva

Mark Arnold

Nicole Becker

Nathan Black

Ned Bowden

Adam Brummett

Shuvendu Das

Tori Forbes

Christian Haas

Amanda Haes

Rebecca Laird*

Johna Leddy

Max Lei Geng

Mona Maalouf

Len MacGillivray

Sara Mason

Dave McCurdy*

Lou Messerle

Chris Pigge

Leah Scharlott

Scott Shaw

James Shepherd

Betsy Stone

Amy Strathman

Soe Tun

David Wiemer

Names were collected through the UI Senior Exit Survey, which all undergraduates are invited to

*Faculty who were identified by 5 or more students.

Chemistry Appreciation &

Awards Night Poster Session

What can we learn by adding an

artificial band gap to a model metal?

Presented by Kristin Boyler

Investigating the Scope

of Catalytic Conjugate Reduction

of Vinyl Bisphosphonates

Presented by Nathan Gehrke

Quantification and characterization

of aeroallergens in Johnson County

Presented by Lillian Jones

Preparation and Evaluation

of Lanthanide Catalysts

for Ethanol Fuel Cells

Presented by Trevor Larkin

Exploring the Synthesis and

Formation of Extended Uranyl Solid

Materials Through a Mild

Temperature Flux Reaction

Presented by Haley Lightfoot

Phenomena-Based Learning in

College Chemistry: Doing to

Understand vs Doing to Do

Presented by Dalton Rippey

Nutraceuticals as Templates for

Photoreactions in the Solid State

Presented by Clara Stuedemann

complete at the time they file to graduate.

these UI faculty and staff members for

Sonnek, Irene Metz, Mohammad Shohel

Spring 2022: Lindsey Applegate, Jay Bell,

Cody Earp, James P. Grace,

Daniel Parr, Mikaela Pyrch,

Fellowship at the Los Alamos National

Research Fellowship

❖ Mikaela Pyrch

University Recognition

Ballard and Seashore Fellowship

Chathuri Kaluarachchi, Fall 2022

CLAS Dissertation Writing Fellowship

Graduate College Post-Comprehensive

❖ Nathan Stumme, Spring 2022

❖ Andrea Van Wyk, Spring 2022

Graduate College Summer (2022)

❖ Samantha Kruse, Fall 2022

Dulamini Ekanayake

Chamika Madawala

❖ Cely Ortiz de Leon

❖ Mikaela Pyrch, Spring 2022

❖ Blake Hudson, Fall 2022

A. Lynn Anderson Award for

(BA)

Poster Award

Lillian Jones

Lauren Groenenboom Chemistry Alumni Awards Senior Recipient Lauren Groenenboom <u>Junior Recipient</u> ❖ Brie Salloum

Undergraduate Awards & Recognition